Yuno Energy Microgeneration Rate 2026: 17.16c/kWh

Yuno Energy's Clean Export Guarantee rate, how and when you get paid, who qualifies, what became of the PV Generation partnership rate, and how the numbers sit against other Irish suppliers.

Solar panels on the roof of an Irish home exporting surplus electricity to the grid

Yuno Energy pays 17.16c per kWh for surplus solar electricity exported to the grid under the Clean Export Guarantee. That is up from 15.89c, an increase of about 8% that took effect in July 2026, and it is published on Yuno's own price-plans page. It puts Yuno second from bottom rather than bottom — below Bord Gáis Energy, Energia, Flogas and Pinergy (all 18.5c) and below Electric Ireland and SSE Airtricity (joint best at 19.5c), but above PrepayPower's 15.89c. The 29c/kWh PV Generation partnership rate this page previously described is no longer published on yunoenergy.ie; if you installed through PV Generation, confirm the rate with Yuno or your installer directly. The standard rate applies to Yuno electricity customers who have a registered microgeneration device and a smart meter, and it arrives as a credit on your bill.

Yuno Energy CEG at a glance (September 2026):
  • Export rate: 17.16c per kWh, up from 15.89c in July 2026 (variable — can change with notice)
  • Partnership rate: Yuno no longer publishes a PV Generation partnership rate on its own site. If you installed through PV Generation, confirm what applies with Yuno before relying on a higher figure
  • Who qualifies: Yuno Energy electricity customers with a registered microgeneration device (solar PV, micro-wind, micro-hydro, or micro-CHP)
  • Smart meter: Required for metered export. ESB Networks arranges one after your NC6 form is processed; deemed export applies where a smart meter cannot be fitted
  • How paid: Credit on your electricity bill, twice a year
  • Tax: First €400/year is exempt from income tax until end of 2028

What Happened to Yuno's PV Generation Partnership Rate

Yuno used to run two export rates: an open standard rate anyone could register for, and a much higher figure tied to installs carried out through its partner PV Generation. As of September 2026 only one of those is published.

The published rate is 17.16c/kWh. Yuno's price-plans page states it plainly: “Eligible customers with microgen will receive a clean export tariff of 17.16c per kWh. This is subject to change.” Any Yuno Energy electricity customer can register for it once they have solar panels and a smart meter, with no installer conditions attached.

The 29c/kWh partnership rate is the figure that circulated alongside Yuno in solar marketing. It was restricted to solar installations carried out through PV Generation, Yuno's installation partner, and never available to existing solar owners who simply switched their electricity account across. As of 12 September 2026 no partnership rate appears anywhere on yunoenergy.ie, so we have withdrawn the 29c figure rather than quote a number we cannot stand over. If you installed through PV Generation, ask Yuno what rate your account is on before assuming a premium applies.

How Yuno Energy's Rate Compares

Yuno Energy sits second from bottom in a market that now spans 15.89c to 19.5c for openly-available rates. The spread used to run to 25c; Pinergy's cut on 1 August 2026 compressed the whole table, so the gap between Yuno and the best open rate is now about 2.3c.

Supplier CEG Rate Notes
SSE Airtricity (Activ8 premium) 32c Y1 / 27c Y2 Restricted — must install through a qualifying Activ8 partner; two-year term, then reverts to the standard rate
SSE Airtricity / Electric Ireland 19.5c/kWh Joint best open standard rate
Bord Gáis Energy / Energia / Flogas / Pinergy 18.5c/kWh Four suppliers level; Pinergy joined them when it cut from 25c on 1 August 2026
Yuno Energy 17.16c/kWh Raised from 15.89c in July 2026; Yuno does not state a VAT basis; variable
PrepayPower 15.89c/kWh Lowest open standard rate tracked as of September 2026; quoted including VAT

Rates as of 12 September 2026 from supplier pages and published trackers. Rates are variable and subject to change; check supplier websites before switching. Full comparison: CEG rates in Ireland.

On a typical 4 kWp system that exports around 1,500 kWh per year, Yuno Energy's 17.16c rate earns you roughly €257 per year. The same export on the best open standard rate, 19.5c from Electric Ireland or SSE Airtricity, earns €293 per year — about €36 more annually, or €360 over ten years. Until 1 August 2026 the comparison was far starker, because Pinergy paid 25c and the same export was worth €375; that option is gone. Your export supplier does not have to be the same as your import supplier, so if Yuno's import plan suits you, registering CEG with a higher-paying supplier is still worth checking — but €36 a year is a much smaller prize than it was.

Why Yuno's headline price can still add up: Yuno Energy built its name on low unit rates and standing charges for imported electricity. For a household that uses a lot more grid electricity than it exports — which is most homes — a cheaper import plan can outweigh a lower export rate. The export rate matters most for systems with a large battery or high summer surplus. Compare the whole plan, not just the export number.

Who Qualifies for Yuno Energy's Microgeneration Payment

Yuno Energy can only pay the export rate to customers who buy their electricity from Yuno. If you supply surplus to the grid but your import supplier is Electric Ireland, Pinergy, or anyone else, you register for CEG with that supplier instead. Yuno is a supplier; ESB Networks runs the physical grid and the metering — the two are separate organisations even though both touch your export payment.

Beyond being a Yuno Energy electricity customer, you need:

  • A registered microgeneration device — solar PV, micro-wind, micro-hydro, or micro-CHP. Most homeowners have solar PV
  • An NC6 form submitted to ESB Networks, normally done by your installer at the time of installation
  • A smart meter installed where technically possible. Where a smart meter cannot be fitted, a deemed export estimate is used instead
Metered vs deemed export: With a smart meter, you are paid for every kWh your meter actually records as exported — this is metered export. If your property cannot take a smart meter, a deemed export figure is applied, a fixed estimate of how much a system your size would typically export. Metered export is almost always the better deal for a well-sized system, so getting the smart meter installed is worthwhile.

How and When Yuno Energy Pays You

Once your NC6 form is processed and your smart meter is installed, ESB Networks passes your export readings to Yuno. You don't trigger this manually — the registration flows through from the NC6. From there, a CEG credit is applied to your electricity bill reflecting the kWh you exported in that period at the 17.16c rate.

A few practical details:

  • Bill credit, not cash: Yuno applies the CEG payment as a credit reducing your electricity bill, twice a year, rather than a separate bank transfer
  • Viewing your export: You can check exported units through your ESB Networks online account, which holds the half-hourly export data your supplier is billed from
  • Variable rate: The 17.16c rate can change — it already has once in 2026, up from 15.89c in July. Yuno must notify you before any change takes effect, and if it drops you can register CEG with another supplier without switching your import account
  • Switching: You can change electricity supplier at any time; your new supplier must also offer a CEG rate, so compare export rates as part of the switch

Tax on Yuno Energy CEG Payments

Microgeneration export income is taxable in Ireland, but the first €400 per year is exempt under a Revenue disregard that runs until the end of 2028. On Yuno's 17.16c rate, a typical 3–5 kWp system will earn comfortably below that threshold, so no tax is due and there is no need to file a return for it. Income above €400 is declared on your annual tax return and taxed at your marginal rate, with USC and PRSI potentially applying to the excess.

The €400 exemption applies per individual, not per device, so a couple both named on the bill have €800 between them. At 17.16c you would need to export about 2,330 kWh a year before a single euro of it became taxable, which is more than most 3–5 kWp systems send to the grid. For the full breakdown, see our guide to tax on solar export income in Ireland.

How to Start Receiving CEG Payments from Yuno Energy

If you are already a Yuno Energy electricity customer with solar panels and a registered NC6 form, you may already be set up — check recent bills for a microgeneration or export credit line. If you have panels but no credit has appeared after a billing period or two, contact Yuno to confirm your microgeneration registration is active.

If you are planning a new solar installation:

  1. Choose an SEAI-registered installer. They submit the NC6 form to ESB Networks as part of the job
  2. ESB Networks processes the form and arranges a smart meter where needed
  3. Register your microgeneration with your chosen electricity supplier (you will need your MPRN and NC6 confirmation), and credits begin once export data flows through
  4. Apply for the SEAI solar PV grant through your installer at the same time — it is separate from, and stacks with, your export payments
Want to compare installers before you commit?

We connect you with SEAI-registered solar installers in your area. They handle the NC6 form, the grant paperwork, and the smart meter registration — so export payments begin as quickly as possible. Free, no obligation.

Get Free Solar Quotes →

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Yuno Energy's current microgeneration rate? +

Yuno Energy's standard Clean Export Guarantee (CEG) rate is 17.16c per kWh as of 12 September 2026, up from 15.89c in July 2026 and published on Yuno's own price-plans page. Only PrepayPower pays less among the suppliers we track. The 29c/kWh PV Generation partnership rate previously quoted is no longer published on yunoenergy.ie. The rate is variable and can change with notice.

Can I get a Yuno partnership rate by switching supplier? +

No. The partnership rate was always tied to solar systems installed through PV Generation, Yuno's installation partner, with eligibility confirmed at sign-up — it was never available to existing solar owners switching their account in. As of September 2026 Yuno does not publish a partnership rate at all. The rate you can register for by switching is 17.16c/kWh.

How much will I earn from Yuno's standard CEG each year? +

For a typical 4 kWp system exporting roughly 1,500 kWh a year, the 17.16c rate works out at about €257 per year. A larger 6 kWp system exporting around 2,000 kWh would earn approximately €343/year at the same rate. Both sit within the €400 tax-free threshold.

Is Yuno Energy a good choice for solar export? +

It depends on your home. Yuno's 17.16c export rate is second from bottom among the open standard rates we track, beaten by Electric Ireland and SSE Airtricity (19.5c) and by Bord Gáis Energy, Energia, Flogas and Pinergy (18.5c), and ahead only of PrepayPower. But Yuno is known for low import unit rates, and because your export supplier can differ from your import supplier, some households pair a cheap Yuno import plan with a higher-paying CEG supplier. Compare the whole plan, not just the export number. See the full CEG rate comparison.

Do I need to be a Yuno Energy customer to get their rate? +

Yes. Yuno can only pay its export rate to its own electricity customers. If your import supplier is someone else, you register for CEG with that supplier instead. You do not have to switch your import account to access a different CEG rate — your export supplier can differ from your import supplier.

Do I pay tax on Yuno export income? +

The first €400 of microgeneration export income per year is exempt from income tax until the end of 2028. On Yuno's standard rate almost all homeowners earn less than this, so no tax is due. Income above €400 is taxable at your marginal rate and must be declared on your annual return. See our solar export income tax guide.

Sources: Yuno Energy — price plans, read on 12 September 2026 (“Eligible customers with microgen will receive a clean export tariff of 17.16c per kWh. This is subject to change.”, Yuno does not state a VAT basis for this figure; no PV Generation partnership rate published anywhere on the site); Yuno Energy — Microgen Clean Export Guarantee terms (bill credit, eligibility); SolarQuotes Ireland — CEG Rate Comparison (competitor standard rates as of 12 September 2026); Revenue.ie — Exemption of certain profits from microgeneration of electricity (€400 tax disregard to end of 2028). Rates verified against supplier pages and published trackers on 18 June 2026, and re-verified on 12 September 2026: Yuno's 17.16c read directly from yunoenergy.ie, Electric Ireland's 19.5c from electricireland.ie, and Pinergy's cut from 25c to 18.5c per kWh ex VAT on 1 August 2026 from pinergy.ie.

Published: 18 June 2026. Updated: 12 September 2026. Author: Neil Russell.